SouthState Bank Personal Checking Account $200 Bonus

SouthState Bank : Personal Checking Account

Bonus Amount
$200
Account Type
Personal Checking
Available In Your Area?
No
Offer Expires In
Bonus Requirements
  1. Open any personal checking account using the promo code EARN200.
  2. Within 60 days, have a total of $250 in direct deposits OR have at least 1 automatic draft of $25 to a non-SouthState Bank account.
  3. Within 60 days, also make 15 debit card purchases.
  4. Bonus will be credited to your account within 2 business days of the completion of the 60 day qualifying period.
Other Details
Hard Credit Pull?
Monthly Fees?
Varies By Account
Open Online?
Save for later
Share with a friend

SouthState Bank is offering residents in select Southeast states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia) $200 for opening a new personal checking account. The bonus requirements are low, the maintenance fees are easily waived, and the account can be opened online. It's a no brainer if you qualify!

How To Earn The Bonus

The SouthState Bank Personal Checking Account promotion requires you to set up direct deposits and make purchases using the account's card in order to earn the $200 bonus. Full requirements to receive this bonus are:

  1. Open any personal checking account using the promo code EARN200.
  2. Within 60 days, have a total of $250 in direct deposits OR have at least 1 automatic draft of $25 to a non-SouthState Bank account.
  3. Within 60 days, also make 15 debit card purchases.
  4. Bonus will be credited to your account within 2 business days of the completion of the 60 day qualifying period.

The fine print

  • Promo code must be used to qualify for the bonus.
  • A $25 minimum deposit is required to open an account at a branch location. $0 is required to open an account online.
  • Offer only available to new personal checking customers and is limited to 1 per customer and cannot be stacked with any other personal checking welcome offer.
  • Debit card purchases must have posted AND cleared within the 60 day period.
  • Qualifying direct deposits include recurring electronic deposits of payroll, pension or Social Security.
  • Qualifying automatic draft is defined as a preauthorized automatic draft by a third party, and excludes recurring debit card payments and person to person transfers.
  • Your account must be open with no changes to the product type at the time of the bonus payment.
  • If all qualifications have been met, the bonus will post to your account within 2 business days of the 60-day qualifying period.

Why SouthState Bank?

SouthState has 160 physical branches located throughout Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. They offer banking, loans, credit cards, and investment accounts that cover personal, business and commercial customers.

Overall, they're a convenient choice if you live near their branches, but they have a small footprint, no ATM network partners or reimbursements, and their mobile app has mixed reviews.

SouthState Checking

A basic checking account that gives you access to online banking and a debit card. It is not an interest-bearing account and they won't refund any out-of-network ATM transactions, but the account is free if you enroll in eStatements.

Opening online requires no minimum deposit, but if you choose to open in-branch, SouthState requires $25.

Fees

SouthState Checking does charge a monthly fee of $5, but there are ways to get this waived:

  • Enroll in eStatements.

Choice Checking

A step up from SouthState's basic checking product, Choice Checking is an interest-earning account. There is a monthly fee that is slightly harder to waive than their basic account (which only requires eStatement enrollment), but the requirements are overall still very manageable.

Like their other checking products, SouthState has no minimum deposit if you open the account online, but bumps this to $25 if you choose to open in-branch.

Fees

Choice Checking does charge a monthly fee of $8, but there are ways to get this waived:

  • Make 15 debit card purchases each month.
  • OR, $250 in combined direct deposits each month.
  • OR, maintain an average daily balance of $1,000.

Gold Checking

SouthState Bank's premium checking account, Gold Checking is still a straightforward account that covers the features you'd expect, but also bumps the interest to the company's highest rate (which, like most banks, is still underwhelming).

It's slightly harder to avoid the monthly fee and, like all checking at SouthState, ATM use can get expensive if you're not near a local branch, since the company has a small footprint and doesn't offer any fee reimbursements for out-of-network use.

On their Gold account, the bank offers free checks and a free 3x5 safety deposit box.

Fees

Gold Checking does charge a monthly fee of $15, but there are ways to get this waived:

  • Maintain a daily balance of $3,500 in this account.
  • OR, maintain a daily balance of $10,000 in combined deposit accounts.
  • OR, hold $10,000 in outstanding consumer or mortgage loans.

Classic Checking

A checking account designed for those 62 or older, featuring unlimited check writing and one free order of checks each year.

Fees

Classic Checking does charge a monthly fee of $8, but there are ways to get this waived:

  • Make $250 in combined direct deposits each month.
  • OR, maintain an average daily balance of $1,000.

Student Checking

A simple and free (assuming you sign up for eStatements) checking account for high school and college students aged 13-22.

There's no minimum deposit to open an account, and it comes with all of the standard features you'd expect: bill pay, online tools including budget and goal tracking, mobile check deposits, a debit card, the ability to send money through Zelle, and more. In addition, this account comes with a few extra fee discounts, like the ability to make up to 3 free out-of-network ATM transactions (compared to their other checking accounts, where SouthState will charge $2.50 for each).

Fees

Student Checking does charge a monthly fee of $3, but there are ways to get this waived:

  • Enroll in eStatements.